Churchfields Primary School


At Churchfields, we follow the statutory requirements of the National Curriculum 2014.

We do this in a way that encourages children to actively engage with their learning and make links across different areas of learning. Teachers adapt their planning to the needs and interests of children in their classes. We work hard to make our curriculum lively and interesting and use educational visits, school journey, themed weeks and visitors to the school to make learning really engaging.

National Curriculum 2014 Core Subjects:

  • English
  • Mathematics
  • Science

These subjects are planned and often taught as discrete subjects although where possible they are set in a context that links to broader topic based learning.

Please see the attached document detailing the content of each of the core and foundation subjects in the National Curriculum year by year. It also includes suggestions for how to support ypur child at home in their reading, writing, maths and science.

Foundation subjects:

  • ICT
  • History
  • Geography
  • Art and Design
  • Citizenship
  • Computing
  • Design and technology
  • Foreign languages
  • Music
  • Physical Education
  • Religious Education

All other National Curriculum subjects are taught through topic focuses which change termly. All classes have music and most PE lessons with a specialist teacher each week.

Teachers produce a termly pamphlet which outlines what children will be covering each term and send this out at the beginning of the term. This includes ideas for ways in which you can help you child at home. These are also on the class pages of the website.

In the Early Years (Reception classes and Nursery) we follow the EYFS Curriculum.

Assessment at Churchfields Primary School

How we assess children’s attainment and progress

In reading, writing, maths and science, we assess children’s learning against the skills appropriate to their age. Each year group has a separate curriculum. The National Expectation is that children will achieve the Expected Standard within their year group. Children may also be assessed at Working Towards the Expected Standard or demonstrating Mastery within the Expected Standaard for their year group.
We use a combination of teacher assessment and half termly summative assessments to award our judgement. 

Setting Targets

We set each child a Target to reach in their reading, writing and maths by the end of each year.

Our Target is for every child to make 6 Steps progress in the core subjects.

This will mean that every child will have learned the necessary skills and have gained a sound understanding of the curriculum, to make a really strong start to the next academic year.

Statutory tests your child will take

Often informally known as ‘SATs’, the National Curriculum Tests are compulsory for children at the end of Year 2 and Year 6. Children in these year groups will undertake tests in Reading, Maths, and Grammar, Punctuation & Spelling. KS1 tests are marked in school by the class teachers and the KS2 tests are sent away for external marking. All results will be reported back to parents and carers at the end of the year in each child’s annual report.

The new National Curriculum Tests for children in Year 2 and Year 6 take place each summer from 2016.
Where previously these tests – and other teacher assessments – were graded in levels (normally numbering between Level 1 and Level 5 in primary schools), from 2016 the tests will be reported as a scaled score, with a score of 100 representing the expected level for each age group. We will also be using a system of bands and steps in Years 1-6 to show attainment and progress (see overleaf for more details.)

For years 1,3,4 and 5, we will attainment as Working Towards the Expected Standard, Working within the Expected Standard or Mastery within the Expected Standard for each child in reading, writing and maths.


Statutory testing at the end of KS1 and KS2

KS1 (Year 2)

  • Reading test
  • Maths test (s)
  • Writing composition will be teacher assessed using performance descriptors
  • A separate grammar, punctuation and spelling test

KS2 (Year 6)

  • KS2
  • Reading test
  • Maths tests x3
  • Writing composition is teacher assessed using performance descriptors from the Interim Assessment Framework
  • A separate grammar, punctuation and spelling test.

Churchfields Primary School

Churchfields Road, Beckenham
Kent, BR3 4QY

T: 020 86505247
F: 020 86633383